Temperature Scarf CAL – January Wrap-up

The Bernat Temperature Scarf Crochet-Along officially started February 1st, 2013, but I had gone back and recorded/crocheted the temperatures for all of January.

IMG_1644January started out chilly, but not horrible.  A lot of light blue to begin with.  Then we had a very mild week, represented by the two shades of green.  At that point I wondered if I would ever get to use my lowest temp colour, sparkly purple, and despite my fiery hatred for winter, I found myself wishing for colder temperatures.

I ate my words the following week when we had a terrible cold snap.  It was the coldest it had been all winter, and even though I finally got the colours on the scarf, I worried if I would actually have to ADD another colour.  And that sent me into a panic because I specifically picked sparkly colours for the lowest and the highest temperatures, so then my whole scarf would be ruined!  RUINED!

IMG_1642But, since this is Canada, and only here can it go from -28C wind chills to 13C within one week.  We had everything from snow squalls, high winds, thunderstorms, rain, and something called “ice fog” in the last week of January.  I was outside on my patio 3 times one evening in only a tank top and I wasn’t cold!  So I was able to introduce a new colour to the scarf – the yellow!

The dark green had been the highest temperatures so far, and this time there was even a gradual change in colour.  Right from light blue (0 – -5C) up to yellow (13C – 19C).

I’m still really pleased with the scarf.  I got all the ends weaved in so far (Note to self: weave in ends as you go along, there is nothing worse than weaving in a billion ends at once) and the edge is looking pretty.  I still may or may not go with a border.  Probably not, because let’s face it, after a year of working on one project, I’m not going to want to do ANYTHING else to it.  Done will be done.

IMG_1646There’s still time to join in!  The crochet-along only just begun, you can catch up!  Find the official information here and follow along.

If you want to know the yarn/stitches/temperatures I’m using, check out my first post here.

2 thoughts on “Temperature Scarf CAL – January Wrap-up

  1. I know you (like me) don’t like the colder temps, but the colors you have for the colder temps sure make your scarf “pop”. Really like the colors and the stitch you picked. Great job!

Tell me Things!

